Fast Food Breakfast

Good morning friends! If you thought I was going for the egg-bacon-cheese kind of ‘fast food’ … think again 😉

I’m here to share one of my favorite go-to portable breakfasts, guaranteed to get you out the door faster.  And by ‘favorite’ I mean that I eat this just about every morning!

Quick Oatmeal Cup

The magic ratio with oatmeal is 1 part solid to 2 parts liquid. For a single serving, here’s what I do:

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 3 Tbs oat bran
  • raisins and walnuts
  • a few shakes of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk

Combine the oats, oat bran, raisins, walnuts and spices in a mason jar.  I would say add as many raisins as you like, but I need to cut myself off at a few tablespoons… ditto for the nuts.  And I really love pumpkin pie spice here… in my opinion, it doesn’t get nearly enough press during the off-holiday season.

Breakfast is perfectly portable at this step!

oats

Add water and microwave 2-3 minutes… keep an eye on it to prevent overflow.  Let cool a minute or two and top with almond milk.  I am lucky to have a super-short commute, so I cook mine at home and wrap it in a towel… still piping hot when I get to work.

Great news… not only is oatmeal warm and satisfying, it’s incredibly good for us too!  Did you know…

  • Oatmeal is a tasty source of heart-healthy fiber.  A special strand of fiber called beta-glucan, which works in our bodies to lower bad cholesterol.
  • This same type of fiber boosts the immune system!
  • The fiber in oatmeal helps to stabilize blood sugar, preventing that mid-morning crash that comes after a sugary breakfast of refined carbs.
  • Oatmeal is an excellent source of magnesium, which is a critical mineral in over 300 chemical reactions in the body.  Research shows that getting enough magnesium can lower your risk for Type 2 diabetes, help regulate blood pressure, prevent cardiovascular disease, and even help with migraines and depression!
  • Oatmeal is also gluten-friendly.  Oatmeal does contain a small amount of gluten (although certified GF is available) but many people with allergies can tolerate oatmeal.

I just wish today’s oatmeal was fueling a trek through the snowy woods (but alas, I will be staying warm and dry at the office today)

winter photo

Hope everyone has a great day!!  xox Kristen

7 thoughts on “Fast Food Breakfast

  1. My stomach is growling 🙂 I love oatmeal and usually save just for weekends but feeling a bit inspired by this! Question – is there a nutritional benefit to almond milk v. regular skim milk? calories/fat/nutrients? Or are you just going for taste?

    • I’m so glad you are feeling inspired! I love my morning oatmeal!!

      Soooo, the whole dairy milk vs. substitute controversy… almond milk and regular skim have similar calorie and fat contents, skim has slightly more protein but almond milk has no cholesterol or saturated fat.

      I try to limit my dairy intake and also enjoy experimenting with vegan alternatives. I’m sure this recipe would be just a delicious with topped with milk! You can also make it with milk or 1/2 milk and 1/2 water if you like.

      thanks for the comment!! xox

      • This sounds great Kristen… I’ll have to give oatmeal another chance! I love the snowy forest picture…a walk is in the plans for today.

      • Oh yes, oatmeal deserves another chance. I think you’d like the thicker cut rolled oats rather than quick-cook because they are chewier. I’ll whip some up for you!
        I pulled over and snapped some pics on my way to work yesterday… I didn’t totally have time for that, but HAD to do it! (priorities are in order :))

  2. Pingback: Whole Foods Cleanse | Intuitive Approach

  3. Oh my gosh! I use apple pie spice on occasion but NEVER once thought of using pumpkin pie spice! This sounds like such a great portable breakfast! I can’t have nuts but I could do the raisins! But wow I am thinking possibilities here with the PPS. Thanks for sharing my friend! XOXO

Leave a Reply

