Fall Harvest Bowl and Pursuing the Crazy

Van Gogh said “If you hear a voice within you say ‘you can’t paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”

I know, I know… Van Gogh cut off his ear… and he may have been crazy.  Nonetheless, I like to take a page from his book now and again.  I need to pursue those crazy ideas just to show myself that I can… plus, it’s a ton of fun!

Today’s version came in the form of 108 Sun Salutations (in a row) 😉 at Yoga Mala in Dover, a really great fundraiser to support Seacoast Eat Local and the (H)EAT program.  So, not only did I get to show myself that ‘yes I can’ but I had tons of fun AND, as one person, got to support the greater good of the community, which feels even better than the killer workout I got… a win all around!!

mala

Here we are setting up.  200 people were there practicing together… I left buzzing with the energy of the group!

After yoga I took a trip to Good Karma Cafe in Exeter for some cleanse-friendly eats.  This place is quickly becoming one of my favorites, and my parents loved it as well!  I ordered the Asian Tempeh Bowl, which was absolutely delicious… I will definitely be re-creating that one at home.

Speaking of yummy re-creates, I made a great dinner last night, inspired by a dish I had at Life Alive last weekend.  Seriously, this is a good one!

Fall Harvest Curry Bowl

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 1/2 bunch kale torn into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 cup brown rice (you’ll have extra)
  • 1/2 can coconut milk (I used lite)
  • 1 Tbs curry powder
  • few shakes cayenne
  • handful chopped almonds
  • nutritional yeast (optional)

Not only is this tasty, but easy to make.  While the rice is cooking, chop the sweet potato (I leave the skin on) and cut the onion into thick slices (skin off on that one).  Roast the sweet potato and onion at 450F until soft 35-35 mins.  When the other veggies/rice are just finished, steam the kale.  Boil 1/2inch of water in a pot and add the kale, cook until just slightly softened, about 2 mins.  Heat the coconut milk in a small saucepan.  Add curry powder and cayenne to taste… I’m a big ‘to taste’ chef… and I like it spicy!  I used approx 1 Tbs curry and 1/8 tsp cayenne.

To assemble, top rice with the veggies. Drizzle with sauce and top with chopped almonds and a sprinkle of nutritional yeast.

fall curry bowl

Guess what… Jonathan, a self-proclaimed non-fan of curry, LOVED this dish as well.  Two empty bowls = success.  (and the recipe made 3 servings… tomorrow’s lunch, done)

curry gone Hope you all had a great weekend!

xox   Kristen

3 thoughts on “Fall Harvest Bowl and Pursuing the Crazy

    • Thank you!! Yes, it was a great day! Kale is a nutritional powerhouse… kinda tastes like spinach, but I like that it holds up a bit better when cooked. I’ll have to cook something for you guys soon! xox

Leave a Reply

