Summer Lovin’

Hi everyone!  There is a HUGE snowstorm rolling in up here… seriously, people are using words like ‘snowmageddon,’ which sounds a little over-the-top to me!  What I can say is that all of this chilly weather has me dreaming about summer and lounging in the sun.  So, on that note, I’m here to share this great smoothie recipe, reminiscent of a summer day at the beach.

Banana Dream Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup coconut almond milk
  • 2 Tbs almond butter (of course, I use the homemade variety)
  • dash cinnamon
  • small chunk of ginger, peeled
  • scoop protein powder (optional)

banana dream smoothie

I picked up some unsweetened almond coconut milk, which really gives this smoothie that beachy taste… but it would also be great with regular almond milk or dairy milk.  If you are wondering what you will do with the rest of the almond coconut milk, trust me, it’s delicious.  It’s great on oatmeal, or in cereal, or in a recipe, like coffee cake.  I’ve also been all about adding a little nib of ginger in my smoothies… the ginger gives you a magical warm feeling in your belly… it is, afterall, still winter!  😉

This recipe also calls for protein powder, although it is totally optional.  If I’m drinking up for breakfast, I usually add the protein for a little more lasting power.  I really like unsweetened vanilla brown rice powder.  My favorite new-to-me brand is Sunwarrior… I sent them an email asking to sample their product at support@sunwarrior.com and they sent me a BUNCH of free samples!  Yay, for free stuff!

sunwarriorPretty cool, right?  Oh, and while on the topic of smoothies… Jonathan and I just signed up for a 30 day smoothie challenge.  It’s not a fast (believe me, I am not up for 30 days of smoothies-only in February!).  The goal of the challenge is to add one healthy smoothie to your usual daily food.  I’m also looking forward to some new smoothie ideas!!  Check it out!  Free 30 Day Smoothie Challenge with Young and Raw.

Okay friends, I am off to play in the snow!  And I’m super excited about it (as are my snowshoes!)  Stay safe out there!

xox  Kristen

Leave a Reply

