Banana bread breakfast cookies and my favorite almond butter

Good morning and happy Friday everyone!!  I’m here with an exciting post. Seriously, who doesn’t enjoy cookies for breakfast every now and again?  Well, great news, these cookies are delicious AND good for you… more like a healthy little muffin masquerading as a cookie.  Plus, these cookies are inspired by one of my favorite treats… banana bread!!  Mmmmm……

Banana Bread Breakfast Cookies

  • 1 generous cup of mashed banana, approx 2 1/2 bananas
  • 1 cup thick cut oats (you can use the quick cook kind, but I much prefer the texture of the thick cut oats in this recipe)
  • 1 cup oat flour (super easy to make, just toss some oats in the blender, or sub whole wheat flour)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp allspice, dash clove
  • 1 Tbs neutral flavored oil (like coconut or canola)
  • 2 Tbs maple syrup (the real stuff, seriously it’s much better)
  • 2 Tbs almond milk (can use regular milk or another non-dairy)
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts
  • 1/3 cup raisins

Okay, this is an easy one… I just combine the ingredients in the listed order.  Be sure to thoroughly mash the bananas.  To toast walnuts, simply toss them in a 350F degree oven for 10ish minutes.  It’s an extra step, but toasting the nuts really boosts their flavor!

Scoop large spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Makes 12-14 cookies.  Cook at 350F for 14-15 minutes.  Let cool, if you can wait a few minutes!  These are totally delicious right out of the oven and also pack well.  They are the most amazing topped with almond butter!

bfast cookies

Maple Almond Butter  (you didn’t think I was going to leave you hanging with a mere mention of almond butter, did you?)  😉

  • 1 bag whole almonds (10 oz)
  • 2 Tbs maple syrup
  • 1 Tbs canola oil
  • few dashes of salt and cinnamon

I cut a little slit in the almond bag and add the oil and maple syrup right in and swish around.  Spread the almonds on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Cook at 300F for 20 mins.

almonds

The toasty almonds are really tasty at this stage… in case you were wondering.  I use my Vitamix for this part, but a food processor works too.  Simply toss the almonds into the blender and add enough oil to keep everything moving around.  I use about 1/4 cup.  I’ve tried to make it without the oil… it can be done, but it’s a lot of sticking and hard stirring.  The great part is that any excess oil separates from the finished product and you can just pour it off.

almond butter

Mmmm… almond butter, a favorite at my house.  In fact, I have a little confession… this particular batch of almond butter was whipped up because I ate ALL the almond butter Jonathan got in Burlington.  Luckily, homemade almond butter rocks, so I’m pretty sure he forgives me!  😉

Have a most excellent Friday!!  Here’s a little photo to start your day off right… I was up early for yoga and caught this on the ride home 🙂

xox, Kristen

sunrise Feb1

6 thoughts on “Banana bread breakfast cookies and my favorite almond butter

  1. I’ve been looking on pintrest for healthy recipes, and they call for almond flour…when you make this how much do you need in order to make a cup? I really want to make that almond butter too! Thanks Kristen…keep all these recipes coming!

    • Hi Tanya! You guys will love these 🙂
      You can buy oat flour, but much cheaper to make your own! 1 cup of oats in the blender yields 1 cup oat flour.
      I haven’t experimented yet with almond flour… Will have to try that soon! xox

  2. Pingback: Fruity granola bars… and a challenge | Intuitive Approach

  3. Pingback: Pancakes… on a school day?? | Intuitive Approach

Leave a comment